SPRING AWAKENING Wrap-Up!

The Boys of “Spring Awakening” during “Bitch of Living”

The costumes are in the cleaners and the set and props are put away with the exception of Moritz’s coffin which is still in my dance studio. The reviews are in and I must say that I am a proud director/ producer. The Eklektix Theatre’s production of SPRING AWAKENING ran from July 6-8th to a packed house every night at San Jacinto Community College Black Box. Going into the production process I knew this was going to be a major undertaking but you are only as strong as the team of people you have around you. My creative vision was fulfilled with the talented musicianship of Benjamin Luss and Relana Gerami and my edgy/ quirkiness was exemplified by my soul –sistahs BRIM aka Brandie Frye and Kim Hart. This was a great way to start a theatre season.

As the hours approached for opening night I was numb. No matter how confident you are about a piece you work on, it doesn’t have validity until the people speak on it. Yes we are to create art because it is in us to do, but it doesn’t become cathartic until the people speak. I sat in the audience trying to watch the artistry of the actors but I was drawn to the reactions of the audience. SPRING AWAKENING is one of those shows that you can do extremely well or extremely horrid. There is no middle ground with this piece of theatre. Once we got past the masturbation scene in “My Junk” I could sit back and relax. From the reaction from one of the cast member’s grandmother I knew this was going to be a great run. I watched this lady chuckle at the character Jason Broussard who played Hanschen as “did his business” in he scene. Approaching this piece I wanted to stage every squeamish moment with delicacy and truth; and from the reactions of the patrons this was achieved.

John Forgy (Ernst) and Jason Broussard (Hanschen) in “Word of Your Body” (Reprise)

During production week we had a running bet with BRIM and other creatives as to how many people were going to walk out after intermission. Well every night we all were astonished. No one walked out! I was a nosey director and made my way through the audience to hear their comments. Yeah I know it’s nosey, but hell you wanna know what the people are saying. So as we concluded an awesome opening night I did a walk through of the theatre to make sure all was put away, and there was a gentleman sitting in the audience with white hair and a name badge on. I got a but scared because I thought this was someone’s grandfather and he was pissed at the content that we presented on the stage. So I asked the gentleman did he enjoy the show. He immediately said, “no!” I nearly pee’d my pants! Kim grabbed on to my shirt and I felt as if I my feet were stuck in dried cement. Then he continued to say that he witnessed “Pure Magic”. I had to fight back the tears but it felt so good to hear someone who actually gets your creative and artistic vision. This gentleman we learned was Phil Fisher, a renowned actor and educator in the Houston area. So as we talked about this over dinner I felt at ease. It was confirmation and it was time to step out on faith to start The Eklektix Theatre Company. Producing theatre on all levels is a mighty feat financially, but I know that this is the direction the creative spirits are leading me.

I began this theatre company in NYC in 2001 and I was not able to truly establish the company due to 9/11. I believe that it’s all in the timing and the time is now for The Eklektix Theatre Company. I want to personally thank everyone that bought a ticket as well as everyone that aided in brining my creative vision to the stage. As I always say the best is yet to come because The Eklektix Theatre Company is here ready to serve you theatre from the soul!

 

Here’s What People are saying about The Eklektix Theatre’s SPRING AWAKENING

“Absolutely wonderful….freaky in some parts for a MOM to watch, but I loved it.”
Wendy Duke Lambright

Kyle Crawford (Georg) and Robbyn Mathews (Adult Women)

“The show was AMAZING! Great job!”
Rachel Gehman

”Loved the show tonight!! I had a prime viewing spot for all the action! The acting performances were powerful and the singing was outstanding. So glad I for to see it!”
Pearl Hewitt

“Really really loved the show last night! These kids are fabulous and the direction and staging was just excellent. What an experience to see this! Congratulations to all of you on this production! You should all be very proud of the work you are doing and the message you are getting out there.”
Leslie McKeough Barham

Robbyn Mathews (Adult Women), Sean Jackson (Melchior) and Ty Duke (Adult Men) in “Totally Fucked”

“Great job, Spring Awakening cast and crew!!! Loved seeing the show last night, keep up the good work, I hope you have a fabulous run!”
Whitney Wyatt Nolder

“Seeing and listening to SPRING AWAKENING Friday night turned out to be one of the most “WOW!” theatre experiences of my life. I am 71+. The ensemble-guided by an obviously gifted artistic staff-is one of the most disciplined and truthful set of actors I have ever seen in my 50 years involved in professional and educational theatre. Truly amazing is how the company moves within the confines of a black box theatre, and creates a sweeping epic feeling of Time and Place. Curiously, a young woman sitting in front of me [next to a tall-dark-and handsome-and strong-looking fella] would do what scary movies prompt people to do: close her eyes/look away/cling to her date. Except she did that during scenes of sexuality and intimacy between actors of the same-sex or different sex or even as some of the characters discover their sexual options with themselves! I mean, it’s coming of age [pun intended] She seemed to have no problem watching characters get beat up, but seemed “embarrassed” or ill at ease when human beings showed and showered tenderness upon a mate or themselves. Heck, there is much yet for me to “understand” about the themes or messages or points about SPRING AWAKENING beyond the obvious ones on the “surface.” At the “curtain” call, the audience was giving a standing ovation even before the lights came back up…..With so few seats in the “small” theatre [about 100 seats I’m guessing], it is almost a theatrical “sin” to miss this production playing through Sunday. I plan to see the show once more, but If I get a seat and a theatre-goer just misses getting a seat when I’m there, I will give up my seat for such a person. I mean, I want seconds…but I will not take seconds if someone is deprived of getting firsts. love to all.

The Girls in “Mama Who Bore Me” (Reprise)

First time in my alert years of life I felt a piercing anger to see a theatrical production close. Those who understand [and even know] what it takes to build a production which reaches a level of such “stunningness” when it met its first audience {and continue that “stunningness” in succeeding performances} might identify with my anger. It is an anger an architect might feel after witnessing a beautiful and unique building which was built for the eyes of those few who might get to see it—because on the 3rd day of its opening, the building is destroyed… Sure, there will be lasting memories for some—and photos will have been taken of that building… but thousands of people will have been cheated out of seeing the building “live.” Such a building should be allowed to stand for many decades. And such a production created by the SPRING AWAKENING Company should-by some means-be allowed to run for many performances. My brain/mind certainly is not FILLED with anger in general, but I have reserved a corner of my brain to allow such anger fit in. The irony is that I do not have a headache. What I DO have is heartache.”
Phil Fisher

 

SPRING AWAKENING “Touch Me”

 

 

 

 

About bryankeythwilson

Dubbed the Literary Prince of All Media, Bryan-Keyth Wilson is a trail blazer in theatre, screenwriting and directing. Wilson is sure to have the masses in stitches with his urban and edgy writing style. A native of La Marque, Texas, he has studied Musical Theatre & Dance at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas and Hunter College in New York. Under the tutelage of Penelope Hasekoester, Jonathon Charles, Dana Nicolay, Dr. Cindy Gratz and Dr. James Miller. In the fall of his first year as a Musical Theatre Major at Sam Houston State University, Wilson released his first play, No Ways Tired, during Experimental Theatre Night and received rave reviews. The success of No Ways Tired reinforced Wilson’s belief that God called him to be a writer. He has also studied dance at The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre and The Martha Graham School of Dance while living in New York. Bryan-Keyth has choreographed a number of shows such as Mame, Once on This Island,Dreamgirls and Suessical the musical,off-Broadway and in Regional Theatres across the United States. His television credits include: Stuart Little 2(Columbia Pictures) NYPD Blue(NBC) and A&E's 100 Centre St.with Alan Arkin. He has written, produced and directed two plays Off-Broadway, Pamlet and The Subway Series Pt1; both of which received rave reviews in Backstage Magazine. He is one of the writers and Associate Directors for a Public Service Announcement titled The Letter, for All-State Insurance. Bryan-Keyth is a classically trained actor, singer and dancer who has traveled abroad, perfecting his craft over the years. He is currently working on his first two feature films titled, Hood Boyand Coffee Datealong with the gospel musical, Confessions of a Preacher’s Wife. Not only a Theatre and Television guru, Bryan-Keyth has developed and molded the carreer of R&B Vocalist Nichole Cordova who is currently a member of the Pop group Girlicious! View all posts by bryankeythwilson

Leave a comment